Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top




In News

By Joel Friedman

Commission for the 2013 Klein International String Competition

On 18, Dec 2012 | In News | By Joel Friedman

Joel has been commissioned to write a series of solo string pieces for the 2013 Irving M. Klein International String Competition.  Founded in 1985, the Klein Competition is a premier competition for emerging string players.   Past winners have included violinists Jennifer Frautschi and Jennifer Koh, and cellist Joshua Roman.  Semi-finalists will present Friedman’s commissioned work June 8, 2013.

The Klein commission

The Klein Competition has achieved international recognition as one of the most prestigious classical music competitions, recognized for the high caliber of the contestants, its unique, nurturing environment, and its commitment to the commissioning of new works.

Past Klein prizewinners comprise a who’s who of the classical music artistic community. They include notable soloists Alyssa Park (1989), Jennifer Koh (1993), Vadim Gluzman (1993) and Alban Gerhardt (1989); up and coming players David Requiro (2006), Tessa Lark (2008) and Nikki Chooi (2009); and principal chairs in many of the finest U.S. orchestras, including the Philadelphia and Cleveland Orchestras, the New York Philharmonic, and the Boston Symphony.