Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top

Selected Works

On 03, Jan 2013 | In | By Joel Friedman

Arias with Dance Glitch (2016)

Commissioned by the Irving M. Klein International String Competition for the duo Soliloquy – Klein Laureates Ariel Horowitz, violin & Lauren Siess, viola. NEW REVISED VERSION!

Instrumentation: violin and viola (NB: this piece requires some singing and movement)

Duration: Ca. 20″

A video of the Washington DC performance can be found here; the National Sawdust performance here; a short film about the piece and those of us involved in the project is here.

The score is available through Grey Bird Music. To see a perusal score click here.

You can purchase a 10×13″ PDF copy of the score below:

10×13 PDF Score
10×13 PDF

About the work:

Juilliard student virtuosi Ariel and Lauren asked me to compose a new work for their inaugural tour as Soliloquy. As they are fearless and consummate musicians, Arias with Dance Glitch includes a vocal setting of  the 1st stanza from the Middle English text A! mercy, Fortune, have pitee on me (by anonymous) from the rare 15th Century Findern Manuscript of earlier secular medieval love poetry by women. Plus movement created by noted DC-based choreographer Paul Gordon Emerson (Co-Founder | Executive & Co-Artistic Director of Company E). The World Premiere took place on August 20, 2016 at Maybeck Studio in Berkeley, CA before moving on Palo Alto (8/21), then Portland (8/24) and Ashland, OR (8/27), on to Washington D.C. (9/8), and finally National Sawdust in New York City (9/12) . To purchase tickets for the premiere click here. The work is commissioned for them by the Irving M. Klein International String Competition and continues my ongoing collaborative relationship with this august organization that begin when I was their commissioned composer for their 2013 competition.

Founded in 1985, the Klein Competition is known as the premier competition for emerging string players.   Past winners have included violinists Jennifer Frautschi and Jennifer Koh, and cellist Joshua Roman. 4 of the last 8 winners have gone on won the Naumburg Prize.